2008 Recipients - Paediatric Academic Leadership Awards


Clinician Practitioner

Dr. Paul Thiessen

The Paediatric Chairs of Canada congratulate Dr. Paul Thiessen as PCC’s recipient of the 2008 Paediatric Academic Leadership - Clinician Practitioner Award.

Dr. Paul Thiessen, a community based pediatrician in Vancouver, was selected because of his role as advocate, scholar, and educator. He has helped to create an academic environment for medical students and residents. He has been the Medical Director of the level 2 newborn care nursery, and has been Medical Director of the Spinal/Meningomycele program for many years and provided exemplary care. He has excelled as a teacher of both residents and medical students and received many teaching awards. He has been recognized for his work in “Partners in Care”, promoting family centered care initiatives at BC Children’s Hospital. He has championed breast feeding, baby friendly initiatives, and a smoke free hospital. In addition, he has helped implement the recommendation of a Fetus and Newborn Committee of the Canadian Pediatric Society and he has established an intrauterine growth restriction chart for the population of British Columbia. He has been active in the Canadian Pediatric Society, and also involved in the Editorial Board of Pediatric Reviews and Contemporary Pediatrics. He has served as the editor of the bi-annual newborn letter in BC for many years. Within the Department of Pediatrics, Dr. Thiessen has served as division head, responsible for organizing Grand Rounds, and responsible for the scientific program at the CPS meetings. His contributions have been truly remarkable, innovative, and varied and he has demonstrated enormous leadership and administrative abilities.


Clinician Educator

Dr. Wendy MacDonald

The Paediatric Chairs of Canada congratulate Dr. Wendy MacDonald as PCC’s recipient of the 2008 Paediatric Academic Leadership - Clinician Educator Award.

Dr. Wendy MacDonald was chosen for the Clinical Educator Award because of her remarkable contributions to the undergraduate program at McGill, and her long standing interest in medical education. Her outstanding contributions include: the McGill University Curriculum Committee, Director of the Pediatric Residency Program, and Director of Medical Education within a Department of Pediatrics. She has served the Royal College on numerous occasions and was Chair of the Test Committee in Pediatrics. She has received the Canadian Association of Medical Education Certificate of Merit. In addition, she has served as Assistant Dean of Student Affairs at McGill. In each of those positions, she has been an innovator and created new successful programs. At McGill the Clinical Clerkship in Pediatrics has been rated the best Clerkship repeatedly, and the Pediatric Undergraduate Teaching Program in Pediatrics at McGill is rated highest in Canada for many years. Finally, she has received the Osler Teaching Award from McGill graduating medical students on two occasions. No faculty member has ever received this honor more than once. For all of these reasons, and in particular her innovation, dedication, and sense of excellence, we nominated her for the Clinical Educator Award.


Clinician Investigator

Dr. Charles Scriver 

The Paediatric Chairs of Canada congratulate Dr. Charles Scriver as PCC’s recipient of the 2008 Paediatric Academic Leadership - Clinician Researcher Award.

Dr. Charles Scriver was selected for the Clinical Investigator Award because of his truly remarkable contribution to creating an environment of research in Genetics not only at McGill, but across the country. He has served on numerous Boards, holds five honorary degrees, is a Companion of the Order of Canada, and a Grand Officer of the Order of Quebec. He has served as President and Council Member of numerous Pediatric and Genetic organizations. However, the award is really aimed at his remarkable administrative contributions, years of international collaborations on metabolic disease, and his development of a number of awards to be given to younger colleagues. His extraordinary long career of many contributions is appropriately recognized by this award.